Oh No I’ve Killed a Pheasant!

I am looking after the chickens, ducks and rabbits for Sarah Hosking.

The ducks are so tame you can stroke their compact feathered backs.  Sarah raised them from eggs and so they think human women are their mothers!   Their delight at seeing me is palpable!!

One of the rabbits escaped, and John, Sarah’s neighbour, tried to catch it with a net.   But it was impossible!  So John put out a rabbit trap to catch it – a metal cage with a lid held on a delicate piece of wire.  The rabbit would be safely caught without harm and I could then slip it back into its pen.   I thought it would be a good idea to put a bit of food in the trap, so I threw in a cabbage leaf and left it hoping I’d come back and find it stuffed with a grey and white rabbit.

I left my desk at twilight after having wrestled with a song all afternoon and went out in the biting wind to check on my charges.  The hens and the enormous white cockerel were all sitting snuggled in the hen house.  I could see a couple of brown eggs nestled in amongst the straw too and will be collecting them tomorrow.  The ducks were off somewhere so I went to check on the rabbit trap.

DSCF6573

I got quite excited, it looked as if there was something in it.  But as I drew closer I was horrified to see that whatever it was in the cage was not moving.  I shone my torch on it.  There in the cage was a pheasant.  I prodded it and it didn’t move.  Oh no, I had killed a pheasant!  

Above is a picture of pheasants hanging up in the street, waiting to be plucked, in Clifford Chambers.  I expect this is where my pheasant will end up.  Poor old pheasant.  Someone told me he had been wandering round the gardens for the past week – and now I’ve killed him.  Steve said that at least it wasn’t a peasant I killed!  He knows how bad my spelling can be and perhaps he felt a moment of horror at seeing the title of this blog!

Tomorrow I shall shake off this Ambridge world and make my way back to London for a  very exciting production meeting indeed!

About thowards

Writer
This entry was posted in Clifford Chambers, THE HOSKING HOUSES TRUST. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

