Looking for Mr Darcy

Image

 

On my walk in the snow today, following Shakespeares Way, I came across this beautiful house.  It’s called Alscot Park.  I did look wistfully over the park to see if Mr Darcy might be aimlessly riding his horse or standing by the lake but no, not a soul.  

It is a beautiful Rococo building and amazingly is still in the hands of the West family, as it has been for the last two hundred years.  Still deep in I Capture the Castle re-writes I couldn’t help being  reminded of Scoatney Manor, and did notice there was even a summer house in the garden – something from the scene with Simon and Cassandra and the “kiss”.

 However, I did meet a very strange creature on my walk.  This curiously comical alpaca lives in a field across the road from my cottage.  There’s something very camelish about him but he has a silly sort of hat of fur on his head.  I was grateful I was not wearing my alpaca hat, that would have been rather embarrassing!  It is exactly the same colour as him too.Image

About thowards

Playwright, Librettist, Lyricist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looking for Mr Darcy

  1. What a lovely creature! It must be a challenge to find enough food when there is snow everywhere.

Leave a Reply

